2014 Stonewall Book Awards Announced!

The winners of this year’s Stonewall Book Awards have been announced. Congratulations to Hilary Sloin, David McConnell, Lori Duron, Kirstin Cronn-Mills, and e. E. Charlton-Trujillo on their wins. The GLBT Round Table would also like to extend our thanks to the committee members who devoted their time this to these awards: Petery Coyl (chair), Amanda Clay, Ellen Bosman, Gina Hernandez, Rebecca Hunt, Joel Nichols, Holly Okuhara, David Suarez, Sarah Barbara Watstein, Zeke White, and Don Yarman.

Here is a slideshow of the winning titles, and a complete list of the award winners and honor books can be found by scrolling down.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award
  • Art on Fire by Hilary Sloin

Literature Honor Books:

  • A Strange and Separate People by Jon Marans
  • Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • The Rebellion of Miss Lucy Ann Lobdell written by William Klaber

Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

  • American Honor Killings: Desire and Rage among Men by David McConnell
  • Raising My Rainbow: Adventures in Raising a Fabulous, Gender Creative Son by Lori Duron
Non-Fiction Honor Books:
  • A Little Gay History by R.B. Parkinson
  • Fairyland: A Memoir of my Father by Alysia Abbott

Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award

  • Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
  • Fat Angie by e. E. Charlton-Trujillo
Children and Young Adult Honor Books:
  • Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle
  • Branded by the Pink Triangle by Ken Setterington

  • Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan


Add Yours
  1. 2
    Midwinter Social Reveals Awards, Honors – GLBT News

    […] Traditionally, the Stonewall awards are all announced at the Social. Because the youth awards are announced at the Monday morning press conference, the Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award had to be kept secret until then. Peter Coyl, however, was able to release the names of the adult literature and non-fiction awards and honor books.  […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *