Stonewall Book Awards announced!

The Stonewall Book Awards were announced during ALA’s Midwinter meeting. Congratulations! Here are this year’s winners and honorees:

Barbara Gittings Literature Award: The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhadar.

Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award: The Queer Games Avant Garde: How LGBTQ Game Makers are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games by Bonnie Ruberg.

Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award: We Are Little Feminists: Families by Archaa Shrivastav, designed by Lindsey Blakely.

Stonewall Honor Books in Literature:

The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi

Memorial by Bryan Washington

More Than Organs by Kay Ulanday Barrett

Postcolonial Love Poem by Natalie Diaz

Stonewall Honor Books in Non-Fiction:

The Fixed Stars by Molly Wizenberg

My Autobiography of Carson McCullers by Jenn Shapland

Paper Bullets: Two Artists Who Risked Their Lives to Defy the Nazis by Jeffrey H. Jackson

XOXY by Kimberly M. Zieselman

Stonewall Honor Books in Children’s and Young Adult Literature:

Beetle & The Hollowbones illustrated and written by Aliza Layne

Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *