Opportunity: Five Awards/Grants Open for Applications

By John Mack Freeman (all awards info are direct quotes from ALA press releases)

Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming

The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming.

School libraries, public or private, that served children in grades K-8 and conducted humanities programs during the 2013-14 school year are eligible. The winning library will receive $5,000.

Applications, award guidelines and a list of previous winners are available at www.ala.org/jaffarianaward. Nominations must be received by Dec. 15, 2014. School librarians are encouraged to self-nominate.

Applicant libraries must have conducted a humanities program or program series during the prior school year (2013-14). The humanities program can be focused in many subject areas, including social studies, poetry, drama, art, music, language arts, foreign language and culture. Programs should focus on broadening perspectives and helping students understand the wider world and their place in it. They should be initiated and coordinated by the school librarian and exemplify the role of the library program in advancing the overall educational goals of the school.

ACRL Offering $110,00 in Conference Scholarships

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) is offering approximately 175 scholarships worth more than $110,000 for its ACRL 2015 Conference, “Creating Sustainable Community,” to be held March 25 – 28, 2015, in Portland, Ore.

ACRL typically funds about 100 conference scholarships and this year initiated a new Kick Start the Future campaign in honor of ACRL’s 75th anniversary that seeks to raise the $50,000 needed to fund the 75 additional scholarships. While donations to the campaign are rolling in, the association currently needs an additional $15,000 to meet its goal. Information on donating to the campaign is available on the ACRL 75th Anniversary website.

The deadline to apply for all ACRL 2015 scholarships is Friday, Nov. 7, 2014, and there are six scholarship categories:

  • Early-career Librarian Scholarships – provide opportunities for librarians with less than six years of post-MLS experience to update their skills and knowledge.
  • Mid-career Librarian Scholarships (new for ACRL 2015) – provide opportunities for librarians with more than six and less than 15 years of post-MLS experience to update their skills and knowledge.
  • Library Support Staff Scholarships – provide opportunities for library support staff to attend the premier event for academic and research libraries.
  • Library School Student Scholarships – provide opportunities for library school students to learn more about current issues and developments in academic and research libraries.
  • Spectrum Scholar Travel Grants – provide opportunities for Spectrum Scholars to attend the ACRL conference for professional development and networking with colleagues or mentors through the ACRL Dr. E.J. Josey Spectrum Scholar Mentor Program.
  • Virtual Conference Scholarships – provide unique opportunities for collaboration, learning and networking online.

United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grants

United for Libraries is accepting applications for the United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant through Jan. 15, 2015.

The United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grants will enable two academic Friends to attend the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco. Applications must be either active in their college or university Friends of the Library group, or be academic library staff members who works in development. A grant of $850, plus full Annual Conference registration, will be awarded to each recipient.

For more information and to apply, visit www.ala.org/united/grants_awards/friends/sage.

The Carnegie-Whitney Grant

The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides an award that is based on a special fund first established by Andrew Carnegie in 1902, “the income of which is to be applied to the preparation and publication of such reading lists, indexes and other bibliographical and library aids as will be especially useful in the circulating libraries of this country.” The Carnegie Fund was subsequently enhanced by a merger with a fund established by James Lyman Whitney in 1910. The Publishing Committee, a standing committee of the American Library Association, administers the grant.

Applications are due November 7th.

ALCTS 2015 Publication Awards nominations

Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for excellence in publication. ALCTS presents two Publication Awards to honor individuals for outstanding achievement in research and writing in the field of library collections and technical services.

If you are interested in nominating a publication for either of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.

Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award:

The award is given in honor of Edward Swanson, LRTS book review editor and long time indexer, to the author(s) of the best paper published in Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS), the official journal of ALCTS.  The winner will receive a citation and $250 from ALCTS.  Papers published in volume 58 (2014) are eligible for consideration, with the exception of official reports and documents, obituaries, letters to the editor and biographies of award winners.  Each paper will be judged on the following points: content with a significant contribution about one or more issues addressed by ALCTS and its sections; statements in the paper are adequately supported by accurate data and/or documentation; and clear and readable writing style.

Send nominations, along with the author, title and volume and issue of the paper being nominated and the reasons for the nomination to:  Art Miller, chair, Best of LRTS Jury, afmiller@princeton.edu

Visit the Edward Swanson Best of LRTS Award page for more information: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/awards/printmedia/bestoflrts.cfm


ALCTS Outstanding Publication Award:

The award honors an author or authors who have written the year’s outstanding monograph, article or original paper in the field of technical services, including acquisitions, cataloging, collection management, preservation, continuing resources and related areas in the library field.  The award consists of a citation and $250 contributed by ALCTS.  Works published in 2014 are eligible.  Reprints of earlier publications will not be considered.  The evaluation criteria include:  intellectual content; practical value; theoretical value; scholarship; presentation; and style.  Papers published in Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS) are not eligible.

Send nominations, along with a statement giving the full bibliographic citation of the article, book or paper being nominated and reasons for the nomination to:  Rene Erlandson, chair, Publication Jury, rerlandson@unomaha.edu

Visit the Outstanding Publication Award page for more information:  http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/awards/printmedia/opub.cfm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *