What We are Reading–March-April 2022

By Katelin Deushane  

The following titles have been read and have received at least one yes vote for the final list.

Fiction and Poetry

All the Things We Don’t Talk About by Amy Feltman

 A story of betrayal and trauma alongside queer love and resilience, All the Things We Don’t Talk About is a celebration of and a reckoning with the power and unintentional pain of a thoroughly modern family.

Broken Halves of a Milky Sun: Poems by Aaiún Nin

Nin shows the ways in which faith and devotion serve as forms of oppression and interrogates the nature of home by reclaiming the persistent echoes of trauma. A captivating blend of evocative prose and intimate testimony, Nin speaks to the universal vulnerability of existence

Love in the Big City by Sang Young Park

A funny, transporting, surprising, and poignant novel that was one of the highest selling debuts of recent years in Korea, Love in the Big City tells the story of a young gay man searching for happiness in the lonely city of Seoul

Manhunt by Gretchen Felker-Martin

Gretchen Felker-Martin’s Manhunt is an explosive post-apocalyptic novel that follows trans women and trans men on a grotesque journey of survival.

The Memory Librarian: and Other Stories of Dirty Computers by Janelle Monae

Expanding from the mythos in Dirty Librarian, these stories in The Memory Librarian fully explore what it’s like to live in a totalitarian existence…and what it takes to get out of it. 

The Other Mother by Rachel M. Harper

A page-turning generational saga about a young man’s search for a parent he never knew, and a moving portrait of motherhood, race, and the truths we hide in the name of family.

Our Wives Under the Sea by Julia Armfield

Our Wives Under The Sea is the debut novel from the critically acclaimed author of salt slow. It’s a story of falling in love, loss, grief, and what life there is in the deep, deep sea.

Wrath Goddess Sing by Maya Deanne

Drawing on ancient texts and modern archeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world, perfect for fans of Song of Achilles and the Inheritance trilogy.

Nonfiction

The Third Person by Emma Grove

A boldly drawn, unforgettable memoir about trauma and the barriers to gender affirming health care.

Share

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*